One year ago today, I had to make the agonizing decision to discontinue life support for my beautiful sister Amanda after she suffered anoxic brain death six days before. The pain today, as I recall that moment, is still raw and excruciating. Saying goodbye as they took her to the operating room to harvest her organs was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.

But the pain of injustice that we have suffered on her behalf has lingered on this past year. I have not been able to get closure and grieve through another family member’s death properly. Law enforcement and the justice system, that we pay to serve and protect the innocent, has failed her at a chance for justice.

No matter what multiple witnesses came forward and said to the investigating detective about domestic violence and threats of murder that very day, he would never consider the option that the life was squeezed out of her by a man that did this sort of thing to her on a regular basis. An illegal immigrant with a long police record and a known active warrant for his arrest for domestic violence against Amanda, was allowed to walk away 2 days later and treated as the victim in this case.

I have exhausted my efforts in Grayson County at this time and knowing God is in front of me in my pursuit of justice for Amanda, I will do whatever necessary to help her and others. From the Sherman police department, Grayson County district attorney’s office, Dallas medical examiner’s office, and the Texas attorney general’s office, who had denied me access to any of Amanda’s case records in March, I will demand answers. I will continue until someone listens to our side of this tragic story. I have never insisted that they change their ruling of suicide, but to consider the option of homicide.
I pray that anyone who has a similar story use this page to share it. It takes courage to step out and go with your heart (and gut), and talk about injustice. But telling your story gives others hope, then courage to tell their own. I will continue to reveal even more facts of my own case as God prompts me to. As I review the facts, I become even more outraged at the excuses and lack of care of Amanda’s life and death. She was a mother, sister, daughter, aunt, friend, and a child of God; SHE DESERVES JUSTICE!

Rest in peace sweet baby girl, you are loved and missed!

